Arson offenses are very serious crimes that carry up to 20 years in prison. Whether its a misdemeanor, gross misdemeanor, or felony charge, the arson lawyers at Newmark Storms Law Office defend clients to obtain acquittals or mitigate consequences.
Arson crimes are punishable by jail sentences, fines, court costs, and restitution—in addition, they’ll remain a part of the offender’s permanent Minnesota criminal record. The arson lawyers at Newmark Storms Law Office have the knowledge and experience to handle violent, criminal trials.
Arson offenses range from misdemeanor (fifth degree) and gross misdemeanor (fourth and third degree) to felony (second and first degree) charges. Arson laws can be confusing and complex. The penalties range from 90 days to 20 years in prison along with high fines and restitution. Many factors can influence the charge and potential sentence, such as the intent, type of property damaged, and if accelerants were used.
Fifth Degree Arson
The Minnesota statute defines fifth degree arson as anyone who intentionally burns (or causes to be burned) any personal property of value. This is a misdemeanor charge and carries a sentence of up to 90 days in prison and a $1,000 fine.
Fourth Degree Arson
Indicated by the Minnesota statute, fourth degree arson includes anyone who intentionally burns (or causes to be burned) personal property in a multi-unit residential building (a building containing two or more apartments) or public building. Fourth degree arson is a gross misdemeanor charge and carries a sentence of up to one year in prison and a $3,000 fine.
Third Degree Arson
Third degree arson is also a gross misdemeanor and is similar to fifth degree arson, except the property value is more than $300 (but less than $1000). A third degree arson charge carries a sentence of up to five years in prison and a $10,000 fine.
Second Degree Arson
According to the Minnesota statute, second degree arson occurs when the property is valued at more than $1000. Arson in the second degree is a felony charge and carries a sentence of up to 10 years in prison and a $20,000 fine.
First Degree Arson
Arson in the first degree is the most severe arson charge. There are several factors that could occur to result in a first degree arson offense.
Arson is one of the most extreme property crimes. If you are facing arson or similar charges, contact the Newmark Storms Law Office here, or call (612) 455-7050 for a free consultation.